Trans-specific Surgeries

The information in this chapter is intended to outline the surgeries available to trans people wishing to medically transition sex, and the ways in which people can access these procedures in Québec. Your relationship with trans clients will benefit from you familiarizing yourself with the steps that trans people must take in order to gain access to these procedures and why many trans people either choose not to, or are unable to, obtain access.

There are so many individual gender identities, and priorities vary so greatly from person to person, that there is no “formula” for a gender transition. Some people have many of the surgeries, some people have none, and others have one or two. Factors that play a role in determining the ways in which people transition medically include choice, ability, overall health, financial status, and immigration status.

Access to Sex Reassignment Surgery in Québec

Some of the surgeries listed in this chapter are not currently covered or available in Québec. Some of them are also accessible and covered in other provinces in Canada.

Refugees and people covered for medical services under the Interim Federal Health Program cannot access trans-specific surgeries covered by the government in Québec until they apply and are accepted for Québec residency. The policy stipulates that a person must be a Québec Resident in order to be covered for access to trans-specific surgeries.

Before September 2009, all trans people wishing to access trans-specific surgeries in Québec had to pass through the program at the Human Sexuality Unit at the Montréal General Hospital. Since then, the manner in which trans people can access Sex Reassignment Surgeries (SRS) in Québec has changed. Publicly funded surgeries are being handled by a a private clinic, the Centre Métropolitain de Chirurgie Plastique in Montréal. Following a process of psychiatric evaluation, patients can present themselves directly to the clinic.

The requirements for accessing SRS in Québec are as follows:

  • Two letters of reference/evaluation from a psychiatrist, psychologist or sexologist, one of whom has seen the patient for at least six months, and the other of whom plays an evaluative role;
  • One letter from a doctor (an endocrinologist or family doctor) who is prescribing hormones (this is not a requirement for a double mastectomy/chest reconstruction surgery); and
  • One letter from a family doctor indicating good health of the patient.

Surgeries covered by the government of Québec include phalloplasty, metoidioplasty, vaginoplasty, double mastectomy with reconstruction, and hysterectomy. With the exception of hysterectomies, all the above listed surgeries, covered by the government, are done at the Centre Métropolitain de Chirurgie Plastique. Hysterectomies are accessed by trans men through regular channels, and not through this new method.

These procedures are fully covered for Québec residents only. Residency for permanent residents and citizens of Canada can be established after living in Québec for a period of three months. As it stands now, however, one cannot be reimbursed for surgeries done before September 2009, nor for surgeries done at other clinics.

Following is a list of surgeries that trans people might access over the course of their transition, including both surgeries which are covered in Québec and surgeries only accessible through the private sector.

Surgeries accessed by female-to-male transsexuals

SURGERY DESCRIPTION
Double mastectomy and reconstruction (top/chest surgery)This procedure involves the removal of the breast (bilateral mastectomy) and the construction of a male-appearing chest line.
HysterectomyThis procedure involves the removal of the uterus through one of three methods: abdominal incision, laparoscopically (by laser), or vaginally. The latter method is most commonly performed when the ovaries are not being removed at the same time.
MetoidioplastyThis procedure involves releasing the clitoris and allowing it to extend to its full length. This surgery results in a micro phallus (small penis). Some people also get their urethra extended, so that they can urinate through their penis. Testicular prostheses may also be implanted during surgery.
OophorectomiesThis entails the removal of the ovaries (and is often done in conjunction with a hysterectomy). This is one way to maintain a certain androgen level while decreasing the actual dosage of testosterone that is applied.
PhalloplastyA procedure that involves the construction of a penis.

Surgeries accessed by male-to-female transsexuals

SURGERY DESCRIPTION
Bilateral
orchiectomy
This involves the removal of the testes from the scrotum. Some people undergo orchiectomies in order to quit taking androgen blockers, or to place a stop to the testosterone production in their system. The scrotum is left in place, and can be used during further SRS.
Breast implants/augmentationThe surgeon inserts saline implants either over the pectoral muscles and under the glands, or under the pectoral muscle.
Cricothyroid
approximation (voice box surgery)
This surgery involves the tightening of the vocal cords. This surgery does not change voice intonation, nor does it make the voice higher. It simply raises the lower range to a higher range. Many people opt to get their Adam’s apple shaved (laryngeal reduction) at the same time.
Laryngeal
reduction (Adam’s apple shave)
This surgery can reduce the appearance of the Adam’s apple. A small incision is made over the Adam’s apple and the protruding thyroid cartilage is shaved and then sanded down to make it less visible.
VaginoplastyThis procedure is the surgical construction of a vagina. A labiaplasty may be performed at the same time or at a later date. In a labiaplasty, the minor labia can be created or refined, and the neoclitoris can be hooded.
Other surgeries that some trans people may deem necessary
• Facial feminization surgeries (nose, jaw, forehead and/or chin recontouring and cheek implants)
• Hair implants
• electrolysis/laser hair removal

Les chirurgies trans

Le chapitre qui suit offre un aperçu des diverses chirurgies (et modes d’accès) auxquelles les personnes trans qui désirent transitionner médicalement peuvent avoir recours au Québec. En vous familiarisant avec les démarches entreprises par les personnes trans pour accéder à ces procédures, vous serez mieux en mesure de comprendre pourquoi un grand nombre d’entre elles ne peuvent pas — ou choisissent de ne pas — y avoir recours.

Il existe un grand nombre d’identités de genre. Et les priorités dans le contexte d’une transition varient à tel point d’un individu à l’autre qu’il n’y a pas de formule unique pour mener à bien une telle démarche. Certaines personnes subissent de nombreuses chirurgies, d’autres une ou deux. D’autres encore n’en subissent aucune. Les facteurs déterminants quant à la façon dont une personne transitionne médicalement comprennent ses préférences personnelles, ses capacités, sa santé, sa situation financière, et son statut au pays s’il est immigrant.

Accès à la chirurgie de réassignation sexuelle (CRS) au Québec

Plusieurs chirurgies répertoriées dans ce chapitre ne sont pas actuellement offertes ou couvertes au Québec, mais certaines le sont dans d’autres provinces canadiennes.

Les personnes admissibles au Programme fédéral de santé intérimaire n’ont pas droit d’accès aux chirurgies trans normalement couvertes par le gouvernement du Québec avant d’avoir obtenu leur statut de résident permanent. La loi stipule qu’une personne doit être résidente du Québec pour accéder à des chirurgies trans.

Avant septembre 2009, toute personne désirant subir une chirurgie trans devait passer par le programme de la Human Sexuality Unit de l’Hopital général de Montréal. Depuis, les modes d’accès à la CRS au Québec ont grandement changé. Les chirurgies couvertes par le régime provincial d’assurance maladie sont pratiquées dans une clinique privée, le Centre Métropolitain de Chirurgie Plastique de Montréal. À la suite d’une évaluation psychiatrique, les patients peuvent se présenter eux-mêmes à la clinique.

Afin d’être admissible à la CRS au Québec, un patient doit satisfaire aux exigences suivantes :

  • Présenter deux lettres de recommandation rédigées par des psychiatres, psychologues cliniciens ou sexologues. Une des lettres doit être rédigée par un professionnel ayant suivi le patient pendant au moins six mois; l’autre par une personne n’ayant eu pour rôle que d’évaluer le patient;
  • Présenter une lettre rédigée par le médecin de famille ou l’endocrinologue prescrivant les hormones au patient. Cette lettre n’est pas nécessaire dans le cas d’un patient qui envisage une mastectomie ou une chirurgie de masculinisation du torse;
  • Présenter une lettre rédigée par un médecin de famille, qui fait état de la bonne santé du patient.

La phalloplastie, la métaidoïoplastie, la vaginoplastie, la mastectomie et la reconstruction du torse, et l’hystérectomie sont les chirurgies couvertes par le gouvernement du Québec. Mise à part l’hystérectomie, les chirurgies énumérées ci-dessus sont pratiquées au Centre Métropolitain de Chirurgie Plastique. Les hommes trans ont habituellement recours à l’hystérectomie par des voies traditionnelles.

Ces procédures chirurgicales ne sont couvertes que pour les résidents du Québec. Un résident permanent ou citoyen canadien est considéré comme résident du Québec après une période de trois mois d’habitation continue dans la province. Toutefois, dans le contexte actuel, une personne ne peut être remboursée pour des chirurgies subies dans d’autres cliniques ou avant septembre 2009.

Les chirurgies répertoriées ci-dessous sont celles auxquelles les personnes trans peuvent avoir recours durant leur transition. La liste comprend les chirurgies couvertes par le gouvernement du Québec de même que celles accessibles uniquement par le secteur privé.

Chirurgies pour transsexuels (femme vers homme)

 
ChirurgieDescription
Mastectomie bilatérale et reconstruction du torseConsiste en l’ablation des seins (mastectomie bilatérale) et la reconstruction d’un torse aux contours masculins.
Hystérectomie
Consiste en l’ablation de l’utérus par l’une des trois méthodes suivantes : incision abdominale, laparoscopie ou par le canal vaginal. La dernière de ces trois techniques est surtout utilisée lorsqu’on procède en même temps à l’ablation des ovaires.
Métaidoïoplastie
(syn. métoidioplastie)
Consiste à dégager le clitoris afin de le prolonger sur toute sa longueur. Il en résulte un microphallus (petit pénis). On procède aussi, chez certains patients, à un prolongement de l’urètre, ce qui leur permet d’uriner par le pénis. Des implants testiculaires peuvent aussi être insérés au moment de la chirurgie.
Oophorectomie
(syn. ovariectomie)
Consiste en l’ablation des ovaires. Cette chirurgie est souvent pratiquée en même temps que l’hystérectomie. Cette procédure permet de diminuer la dose de testostérone d’un patient tout en maintenant un certain niveau d’androgènes dans son système.
PhalloplastieProcédure qui consiste à façonner un pénis.

Chirurgies pour transsexuelles (homme vers femme)

 
CHIRURGIE DESCRIPTION
Orchidectomie double
(syn. orchiectomie bilatérale)
Consiste en l'ablation des testicules. Certaines personnes subissent une orchidectomie pour pouvoir cesser de prendre des antiandrogènes ou pour freiner la production de testostérone dans leur système. Le scrotum demeure intact et peut être utilisé ultérieurement si la patiente choisit de subir une CRS.
Augmentation mammaire
Consiste à insérer des implants contenant une solution saline sous la glande mammaire et au-dessus du muscle pectoral ou sous le muscle pectoral.
Approximation cricothyroïdienne (chirurgie de la voix)
Consiste à augmenter la tension des cordes vocales. Cette intervention ne modifie ni la hauteur ni l'intonation de la voix. Elle permet simplement de hausser le registre inférieur de la voix. Beaucoup de patientes subissent une chirurgie de réduction de la pomme d'Adam (condrolaryngoplastie) en même temps que cette procédure.
Condrolaryngoplastie (réduction de la pomme d’Adam)
Consiste à améliorer l’aspect proéminent de la pomme d’Adam. Une légère incision est pratiquée au niveau de la pomme d’Adam. La partie saillante du cartilage thyroïdien est alors retirée et ce qu’il en reste est poncé pour le rendre moins visible.
Vaginoplastie
Consiste à créer chirurgicalement un vagin. Une labiaplastie peut être pratiquée au moment de la chirurgie ou à une date ultérieure. Lors d’une labiaplastie, on façonne les petites lèvres et un capuchon pour le néo-clitoris.
Chirurgies parfois considérées nécessaires par certaines personnes trans
• Féminisation du visage (harmonisation du nez, du front, du menton et implants malaires)
• Greffe des cheveux
• Électrolyse/ épilation au laser