Terms and Definitions

People talk about their bodies and identities in many different ways. Below you will find an overview of some of the language and terms that people use within trans communities. These terms by no means constitute a definitive resource, and some of them may vary between cultural and linguistic communities. For example, a term accepted and used in one language or culture might be deemed offensive or unacceptable in another. This is especially important to keep in mind in a Québec context, as language used within anglophone, francophone, and allophone communities differs greatly. In any case, the following are some of the basic terms you might hear when working with trans communities.

Sex:

How we define biological differences between people’s bodies. Sex is determined by what we are assigned at birth according to assumed or perceived chromosomal/genetic/anatomical/biological characteristics that are generally divided into male and female within a western medical framework.

Gender Identity:

How we identify and understand our own gender. Regardless of our physical sex, we might think of ourselves as male, female, or somewhere in between. Because it is our internal understanding of ourselves, our gender identity might not be visible to other people.

Gender Expression:

How we show and express our gender identity. For example, your gender expression might be feminine.

Sexual Orientation:

The types of people and bodies that we are sexually or romantically attracted to. For example, if you have romantic and/or sexual relationships with people who are the same gender as you, you might identify as gay, lesbian, bisexual, or queer. Like non-trans people, trans people can identify anywhere within the spectrum of sexual orientation.

Transsexual:

A person who identifies with the sex/gender different from the one which they were assigned at birth. For example, a person who was assigned male at birth, but understands themselves as a woman, would be a transsexual woman. These people may decide to alter their appearance, body, name, and pronouns. Though within many circles the term “transsexual” is used only for those who choose to undergo Hormone Replacement Therapy and Sex Reassignment Surgery, this guide understands this term more broadly. We do this to acknowledge barriers to access to these services, as well as to respect people’s personal choices with regard to their bodies.

Transgender:

An umbrella term used to encompass all those whose physical sex differs from their gender identity or who experience discomfort with their gender assigned at birth. In some circles, this term is used to describe people who choose not to access Hormone Replacement Therapies and Sex Reassignment Surgeries as a part of their transition. Because this term is so vague, and used to encompass so many identities, is has been contentious, as some people feel it risks invisibilizing the varying needs between different trans communities.

Cross-dresser:

A person who presents as the opposite gender to which they were assigned at birth, either full or part time, but does not identify as transsexual, and does not wish to go through a physical transition. An example might be a man who dresses in typical female clothing, but who does not identify as a woman. This term has replaced “transvestite” in English, though “travesti(e)” is used in many French and Spanish contexts.

Trans:

Usually short for “transgender” and/or “transsexual.” Trans means “crossing to another side.” So someone who presents, lives, and/or identifies as a gender other than the one they were assigned at birth is a trans person.

Cis:

This term is used in some trans communities to describe non-trans people. Usually it is short for “cisgender” and/or “cissexual.” Everyone is assigned a gender. Cis means “on the same side.” So someone who presents, lives, and identifies as the same gender they were assigned at birth is a cis person.

Two-Spirit:

A term used in some North American indigenous communities to describe a person who embodies both masculine and feminine qualities and attributes. This term is sometimes used to more generally describe transgender people in some Native communities.

Intersex:

A person whose body at birth is neither strictly male nor female by conventional medical standards (the medical term occasionally used is Disorders of Sex Development (DSD)). For example, a person might be born with a penis, but their body does not process the “male” hormone
testosterone, and thus they might also naturally develop breasts and other
“female” qualities.

Transition:

The emotional and/or physical process of actively moving away from the gender you were assigned at birth and toward whatever makes you feel more comfortable. This looks different for every individual. This process may or may not involve a new name, new clothes, new pronouns, Hormone Replacement Therapy, surgery, etc.

Transphobia:

A prejudiced or bigoted hatred of trans people or anyone who violates gender norms, and the institutional system resulting from this bias. You don’t have to be trans to experience transphobia.

WPATH:

Acronym for the World Professional Association for Transgender Health, formerly know as the Harry Benjamin International Gender Dysphoria Association. It is a professional body made up of psychiatrists, endocrinologists, surgeons, and other health care professionals who work with trans people. There is also the Canadian Professional Association for Transgender Health (CPATH), the only national faction of WPATH.

Gender Identity Disorder (GID):

The official diagnosis, as outlined in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, to describe someone who experiences gender dysphoria. Unless the health care provider is working within a harm-reduction model, a diagnosis of GID is required to receive a prescription for hormones or to access Sex Reassignment Surgery.

Gender Dysphoria:

A term used within medical and psychiatric discourse to describe an incongruence between gender assigned at birth and gender identity. It is used to describe Gender Identity Disorder in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Many trans people reject this term, as they find it pathologizing.

Passing:

Being perceived or read as the gender with which you identify.

Outing:

The act of revealing someone’s trans status to other individuals. Make sure never to do this without the person’s consent.

* A few of these definitions were based on the Terms and Definitions section of HIP’s Trans In-Formation guide with permission from its author

Termes et définitions

Les gens ont différentes façons de parler de leurs corps et de leurs identités. Vous trouverez ci-dessous quelques-uns des termes utilisés dans les communautés trans. Cette liste est loin d’être exhaustive et ces termes peuvent varier grandement d’une communauté culturelle et linguistique à une autre. À titre d’exemple, un terme en usage dans un contexte linguistique et culturel donné peut être considéré comme offensant ou inacceptable lorsqu’employé dans un autre milieu. Il est tout particulièrement important, dans le contexte du Québec, de garder ceci à l’esprit, étant donné que les termes utilisés par les anglophones, les francophones et les allophones diffèrent énormément. Quoi qu’il en soit, les termes qui suivent figurent au rang de ceux que vous rencontrerez le plus si vous travaillez avec les communautés trans.

Sexe :

La façon de désigner les différences biologiques entre les corps. À la naissance, on assigne à chaque personne un sexe en fonction de certaines caractéristiques (présumées ou manifestes) chromosomiques, génétiques, anatomiques et physiologiques. Le corps médical, en Occident, divise alors les gens en deux catégories : les personnes de sexe masculin et les personnes de sexe féminin.

Identité de genre :

Notre manière individuelle de comprendre et de désigner notre genre. Indépendamment de son sexe physique, une personne peut s’identifier comme un homme, une femme, ou se situer quelque part entre ces deux pôles. Comme elle reflète la vision intérieure que nous avons de nous-mêmes, l’identité de genre peut demeurer invisible au regard des autres.

Expression de genre :

Notre manière personnelle d’extérioriser et d’exprimer notre identité de genre. L’expression de genre d’une personne peut, par exemple, être féminine.

Orientation sexuelle :

Le type de personnes et de corps qui nous attirent sur le plan sexuel et romantique. Par exemple, une personne attirée par les gens qui sont du même genre qu’elle peut s’identifier comme gaie, lesbienne, bisexuelle ou queer. L’orientation sexuelle d’une personne trans peut — tout comme l’orientation d’une personne non trans — se situer n’importe où sur la vaste gamme des orientations sexuelles possibles.

Transsexuel/transsexuelle :

Désigne une personne qui s’identifie au sexe opposé à celui assigné à la naissance. On dit, par exemple, d’une personne de sexe masculin à la naissance, qui s’identifie comme une femme qu’elle est une femme transsexuelle. Dans un tel cas, la personne peut désirer modifier son apparence physique, son corps; elle peut aussi vouloir changer de nom et demander qu’on s’adresse à elle en utilisant des pronoms qui correspondent à son identité. Bien que dans de nombreux milieux, le terme « transsexuel » soit réservé pour désigner les personnes qui reçoivent un traitement hormonal substitutif et subissent une chirurgie de réassignation sexuelle, ce guide utilise le terme plus librement. Nous agissons ainsi afin de reconnaître les obstacles qui empêchent beaucoup de gens à accéder à ces services et par respect pour les choix personnels qu’ils font concernant leurs corps.

Transgenre :

Il s’agit d’un terme englobant tous ceux et celles dont le sexe physique ne correspond pas à l’identité de genre, de même que toutes les personnes qui ressentent un inconfort quant au genre assigné à la naissance. Dans certains milieux, ce terme est utilisé pour désigner les personnes qui choisissent de ne pas recourir au traitement hormonal substitutif ou à la chirurgie de réassignation sexuelle durant leur transition. Étant donné le caractère vague du terme et son utilisation pour désigner globalement un si large éventail identitaire, le mot est sujet à de vifs débats. Certaines personnes soutiennent que l’emploi du terme dans son sens large risque d’oblitérer la diversité des besoins propres à chaque communauté trans.

Travesti/travestie :

Désigne une personne présentant, à temps plein ou partiel, une expression de genre contraire au sexe assigné à la naissance. Cette personne ne s’identifie pas comme transsexuelle et ne désire pas entreprendre un processus de transition physique. Exemple : un homme qui porte des vêtements féminins, mais qui ne s’identifie pas comme une femme. En anglais, le terme « cross-dresser » a supplanté le terme « transvestite ». Dans les contextes francophones et hispanophones, l’usage du mot « travesti » reste en vigueur.

Trans :

Généralement la forme abrégée de « transgenre » ou « transsexuel ». Trans signifie « traverser de l’autre côté ». Il désigne donc une personne dont l’expression et l’identité de genre sont contraires au sexe assigné à la naissance.

Cis :

Terme utilisé dans certaines communautés pour désigner les personnes qui ne sont pas trans. Tous les gens reçoivent une assignation de sexe à la naissance. Cis signifie « du même côté ». Désigne donc une personne dont l’expression et l’identité de genre sont conformes au sexe assigné à la naissance.

Bispirituel/bispirituelle :

Terme utilisé dans certaines communautés autochtones nord-américaines pour désigner une personne qui incarne des caractéristiques et qualités à la fois masculines et féminines. Aussi utilisé, dans certains contextes autochtones, pour désigner, de manière générale, les personnes trans.

Intersexe :

Terme conventionnellement utilisé par le corps médical pour désigner les personnes dont le sexe à la naissance présente des caractéristiques qui ne sont pas strictement masculines ou féminines. Exemple : une personne née avec un pénis qui développe naturellement à la puberté des seins et autres caractéristiques sexuelles secondaires féminines parce que son système ne produit pas normalement de la testostérone.

Transition :

Désigne le processus physique et émotionnel dans lequel une personne s’engage lorsqu’elle abandonne le rôle social associé au sexe de naissance pour adopter une nouvelle identité de genre. Ce processus est différent pour chaque individu. La démarche de transition peut comprendre — ou non — l’adoption d’un nouveau nom, de nouveaux vêtements, de nouveaux pronoms, le recours au traitement hormonal substitutif, à la chirurgie, etc.

Transphobie :

Haine et préjugés à l’endroit des personnes trans ou de quiconque ne se conforme pas aux normes sociales établies en matière d’identité de genre. Désigne aussi les pratiques institutionnelles qui découlent de ces préjugés. La transphobie touche aussi les personnes non trans.

WPATH :

Acronyme de la World Professional Association for Transgender Health, autrefois connue sous le nom de Harry Benjamin International Gender Dysphoria Association. Il s’agit d’un regroupement professionnel composé de psychiatres, endocrinologues, chirurgiens, et autres professionnels de la santé qui travaillent avec une clientèle trans. La WPATH n’a qu’une seule organisation nationale affiliée, l’Association Canadienne des professionnels en santé des personnes transsexuelles ou CPATH.

Trouble de l’identité de genre  :

Diagnostic officiel présenté par le DSM Manuel diagnostique et statistiques des troubles mentaux pour décrire une personne souffrant de dysphorie du genre. Les professionnels de la santé qui ne travaillent pas dans un cadre de réduction des méfaits exigent qu’un patient ait reçu un diagnostic de trouble de l’identité de genre avant de lui prescrire des hormones ou d’approuver la chirurgie de réassignation de sexe.

Dysphorie du genre :

Terme utilisé en médecine et en psychiatrie pour décrire l’incohérence entre l’identité de genre et le sexe de naissance d’un patient. Le terme est utilisé dans le DSM pour décrire les troubles de l’identité de genre. De nombreuses personnes trans considèrent que le terme confère un caractère pathologique à leur condition et le rejette.

Passer :

Désigne le fait pour une personne trans d’être perçue en fonction du sexe auquel elle s’identifie.

Outing :

Terme anglais désignant le geste de divulguer le fait qu’une personne est trans à d’autres gens. Assurez-vous de ne jamais commettre un tel geste sans le consentement de la personne concernée.