Name & Sex Designation Changes in Quebec

Unfortunately, the costs and legal standards for changing name and sex designation inhibit the ease with which trans people can change their legal status. Trans people cope with this difficulty in many ways.  Because the criteria for changing name and sex designation is so varied from place to place, many trans people who don’t meet the criteria for name change in one region may choose to move to another area in order to make the change.  Other trans people have fought legal battles to win the right to change their name or sex designation in the region in which they were born or are living.  Still others decide or are forced to work outside of the legal arena.

The process of legally changing one’s name and sex designation is controlled by the Vital Statistics Department  in each province and territory and so varies greatly.  Québec in particular is different from other Canadian provinces. To figure out what information is relevant, keep the following in mind: In general, a person can change their name only in the province or territory in which they are living, and can change their sex designation (“M” to “F” or “F” to “M”) in the province or territory in which they were born.

If your client was not born in Canada, but they are a Canadian citizen who lives in Québec, they can change their name and/or sex designation in Québec, or their name only in any province in which they reside. If your client is not not a Canadian citizen, they can change their name in any province in which they are living, except for Québec.

General Requirements in Québec

Name Change

Name changes and changes of sex designation for people living in Québec are processed by the provincial Department of Civil Status (Etat civil).  The general requirements for a name change are a) Canadian citizenship, and b) at least twelve months of Québec residency.

The three main ways transsexual and gender variant people in Québec succeed when approaching the Department of Civil Status for a name change are as follows:

1. The five year rule This is the path for a name change that is open to the general public.  It is not specific to trans and gender-variant people.  In order to access a change of name under this legislation, a person must prove that they have been using their name widely for at least five years.

Proof can include letters from an employer, school, community worker, doctor, family member, or friend.  It can also include bills, receipts, ID, membership cards, or a lease in the person’s chosen name.  Proof of at least two documents per year over five years must be provided. The more official the documentation one provides, the more likely the name change will be accepted.

Below is a sample letter in support of a name change from a community organization or clinic:

 To Whom it May Concern,
 
I am writing on behalf of NAME OF ORGANIZATION, in support of the name change request of NAME OF PERSON. NAME is a transsexual WOMAN/MAN who is currently undergoing various aspects of social and medical transition. HIS/HER use of a MALE/FEMALE name is essential to HIS/HER well-being, as it corresponds to HIS/HER experience of living in the world as a WOMAN/MAN.
 
Since DATE, NAME has regularly accessed our services at NAME OF ORGANIZATION, during which SHE/HE has consistently used the name NAME, and presented HIMSELF/HERSELF as a WOMAN/MAN. Furthermore, SHE/HE has been using this name with HER/HIS friends and for more than LENGTH OF TIME.
 
As you may very well know, the fact that NAME`s legal identification (driver’s license, RAMQ card, etc.) does not correspond to HER/HIS gender/sex identity as a WOMAN/MAN is a source of discrimination, be it when attempting to access health care, or opening a bank account, to name a just a couple of examples. A change of name would greatly ease HER/HIS ability to access various services and basic needs, and would improve HER/HIS quality of life.
 
For these reasons, we urge you to accept this request for a name change. Furthermore, we also request that NAME be exempt from publishing HIS/HER name change in a local newspaper. As SHE/HE is subject to discrimination as a transsexual WOMAN/MAN, it is a serious threat to HER/HIS safety, security and privacy to have to publish HER/HIS name change in a publicly accessible source.
 Thank you for your time and consideration.
 
 Sincerely,
NAME

Name changes using this procedure will result in the person’s chosen name being added in front of their legal name on official documents. Legal/birth names will continue to appear on the birth certificate. However, forms of identification such as a health care card or driver’s license can be issued with only a person’s chosen name and family name appearing.

Pursuing a name change using the five year rule includes a publication requirement.  The applicant must publish their request for a name change in the legal Gazette of Québec, at a cost of $75, and in the classified section of the local paper of their choice.  The publication requirement can be waived, if reason exists for the person to believe that it would put them in danger.

2.  Change of sex designation – If the applicant meets the requirements for a change of sex designation, they are automatically granted a name change.  In order to meet the requirements in Québec, a female-to-male transsexual needs to have taken hormones and had a hysterectomy. A male-to-female transsexual has to have taken hormones and undergone a vaginoplasty.

Contrary to the “five year rule” (described above), a name changed in this manner will replace previous names.  There is no publication requirement for this method.

3.  Transsexual-specific method – As of 2006, the Department of Civil Status implemented criteria for name change that is specific to transsexuals.  Under the new criteria, the person must provide the following proof in order to obtain a change of name:

  • a letter from a psychiatrist or psychologist attesting to their transsexuality (though this is the specific requirement according to Department of Civil Status, some have succeeded by using a letter from a family doctor or a sexologist instead);
  • some proof of physical change towards the gender to which they are transitioning – this could include proof of hormone therapy or surgery, though in some cases a photograph showing gender presentation has been accepted; and =
  • proof that they have used their chosen name for at least a year. This proof could include letters from an employer, school, community worker, doctor, family member, or friend.  It could also include bills, receipts, a lease or other documents in their chosen name.

Regarding this method, the Department of Civil Status has stated that the individual’s chosen name will replace previous names on their birth certificate. However, some trans people have found that their chosen name was merely added to their other names.

The transsexual-specific method also includes a publication requirement.  The applicant must publish their request for a name change in the legal Gazette of Québec, at a cost of $75, and in the classified section of the local paper of their choice, unless the person feels as if publishing their name change would put them in danger.

Where to get the forms

The first step in the name change process is to fill out the Application for preliminary analysis for a change of surname or given name and send it to the Department of Civil Status. There is no cost to submit this form. The form can be downloaded from their website at <http://www.etatcivil.gouv.qc.ca/publications/FO-12-04-request-preliminary-analysis-modification-surname-first-name.pdf>.

The form to access a sex-designation change on official documentation is not available online. You must either call or show up in person at the Department of Civil Status.

They can be reached directly at:

Québec: 418.643.3900

Montréal: 514.864.3900

Elsewhere in Québec: 1.800.567.3900 (toll free)

After the Department of Civil Status has received the Preliminary Analysis form, they will send the guide and application form. The total costs for this second part of the process are approximately $300–$400.

Changement de nom et de la mention du sexe au Québec

Malheureusement, les coûts et les normes juridiques pour un changement de nom et de la mention du sexe ralentissent les personnes trans dans leurs démarches pour une modification de statut officiel. Elles se heurtent à de nombreuses difficultés. Parce que les modalités pour changer de nom et de la mention du sexe diffèrent d’un endroit à l’autre, les personnes trans qui ne satisfont pas aux critères d’une région peuvent opter de déménager ailleurs afin d’effectuer ce changement. D’autres choisissent de se battre sur le plan légal pour acquérir le droit de changer leur nom et leur mention du sexe dans la région où elles sont nées ou qu’elles habitent. D’autres encore décident ou sont contraintes de travailler en dehors du cadre légal.

Les processus de changement légal de nom et de la mention du sexe sont sous contrôle du Bureau de l’état civil (Vital Statistics Department) de chaque province et territoire et peuvent être fort dissemblables. Le Québec est particulièrement différent. Pour déterminer quelle information est pertinente, rappelez-vous ceci : en général, une personne peut changer son nom dans la province ou territoire où elle demeure, et peut changer la mention du sexe (de M vers F ou de F vers M) dans la province ou territoire où elle est née.

Changement de nom au Québec

Le changement de nom et de la mention du sexe pour les personnes vivant au Québec est traité par le Directeur de l’état civil du gouvernement du Québec. Les conditions générales suivantes doivent être remplies pour un changement de nom : a) être de citoyenneté canadienne; et b) être domiciliée au Québec depuis au moins un an.

Les trois principales façons pour les personnes trans de s’adresser au Directeur de l’état civil pour un changement de nom sont les suivantes:

 La règle des 5 ans

Ce processus s’adresse au grand public et n’est pas spécifiquement pour les personnes trans. Pour changer de nom sous cette législation, une personne doit prouver qu’elle a utilisé ce nom couramment au cours des cinq dernières années.

Les preuves peuvent inclure des lettres de l’employeur, d’une école, d’un travailleur social, d’un docteur, d’un membre de la famille ou un ami, ainsi que des factures, reçus, carte d’identité, carte de membre ou un bail avec le nom usuel de la personne. Il faut fournir au moins deux documents par année pour les cinq dernières années. Plus vous présentez de documents officiels, meilleures sont les chances que le changement de nom soit accepté.

Voici un exemple de lettre provenant d’un organisme communautaire ou d’un centre médical pour appuyer un changement de nom :

 À qui de droit,

Je vous écris au nom de NOM DE L’ORGANISME, pour appuyer la demande de changement de nom de NOM DE LA PERSONNE. NOM est UNE transsexuelle /UN transsexuel qui est en processus de transition dans divers aspects de sa vie sociale et sur le plan médical. L’utilisation de son nom FÉMININ /MASCULIN est essentielle à son bien-être puisqu’il correspond à son expérience de vie en société en tant que FEMME/HOMME.

Depuis DATE, NOM a régulièrement utilisé les services de NOM DE L’ORGANISME, temps durant lequel ELLE/IL a employé invariablement le nom NOM, est s’est présenté-ée en tant que FEMME/HOMME. De plus, ELLE/IL a utilisé ce nom auprès de ses amis, et ce, depuis plus de DURÉE.

Comme vous le savez très bien, le fait que les pièces d’identité officielles (permis de conduire, carte de la RAMQ, etc.) de NOM ne correspondent pas à son identité sexuelle en tant que FEMME/HOMME devient une source de discrimination, que ce soit pour avoir accès à des soins de santé ou ouvrir un compte en banque, entre autres exemples. Un changement de nom donnerait à NOM plus de facilité à accéder à différents services et besoins fondamentaux, et améliorerait sa qualité de vie.

Pour toutes ces raisons, nous vous prions instamment d’accepter cette demande de changement de nom. De plus, nous vous demandons l’exemption de publication de changement de nom dans le journal local, puisque NOM fait l’objet de discrimination en tant que personne transsexuelle, et mettrait ainsi en danger sa sécurité et le respect de sa vie privée si ELLE/IL devait avoir son changement de nom accessible au public.

Nous vous remercions de votre temps et de votre compréhension.

Cordialement

NOM

Cette procédure de changement de nom a pour conséquence que le nom choisi par la personne est ajouté devant le nom légal sur des documents officiels, c’est-à-dire que le nom légal ou d’origine demeure sur le certificat de naissance. Cependant, les pièces d’identité comme la carte santé ou le permis de conduire peuvent être émis avec le nom choisi par la personne et son nom de famille.

La règle des 5 ans inclut aussi une exigence de publication. Le demandeur doit rendre publique la demande de changement de nom par l’entremise de la Gazette officielle du Québec, au coût de 75 $, et dans un journal local de son choix. L’exigence de publication peut être annulée s’il existe pour la personne des raisons de penser qu’elle pourrait être en danger.

Processus spécifique pour les personnes trans

Depuis 2006, le Bureau de l’état civil a instauré une condition pour le changement de nom spécifique aux personnes trans, selon laquelle la personne doit fournir les preuves suivantes pour obtenir un changement de nom :

  • une lettre d’un psychiatre ou d’un psychologue témoignant de leur transsexualité (même si c’est une exigence particulière du Bureau de l’état civil, certaines personnes ont réussi en soumettant à la place une lettre d’un médecin de famille ou d’un sexologue);
  • des preuves de modification physique du genre vers lequel elles transitionnent, comme un traitement d’hormonothérapie ou une chirurgie, bien que dans certains cas une photographie de la transition ait été acceptée; et
  • des preuves que leur nom choisi a été utilisé depuis au moins un an, c’est-à-dire des lettres de l’employeur, d’une école, d’un travailleur social, d’un docteur, d’un membre de la famille ou un ami, ainsi que des factures, reçus, un bail ou tout autre document avec le nom choisi de la personne.

Dans le cadre de ce processus, le Directeur de l’état civil a convenu que le nom choisi remplacerait les autres prénoms sur le certificat de naissance, bien que parfois, certaines personnes ont vu leur nom simplement ajouté aux autres.

Ce processus spécifique aux personnes trans comporte une exigence de publication. Le demandeur doit rendre publique la demande de changement de nom par l’entremise de la Gazette officielle du Québec, au coût de 75 $, et dans un journal local de son choix. L’exigence de publication peut être annulée s’il existe pour la personne des raisons de penser qu’elle pourrait être en danger.

Changement de nom avec changement de la mention du sexe

Si le demandeur remplit les conditions pour un changement de la mention du sexe, il reçoit automatiquement son changement de nom. Pour être conforme aux exigences du Québec, un homme transsexuel (femme vers homme) doit avoir suivi un traitement hormonal, et une hystérectomie. Dans le cas d’une femme transsexuelle (homme vers femme), elle doit avoir suivi un traitement hormonal et subi une vaginoplastie.

À l’opposé de la règle des 5 ans (décrite précédemment), selon ce processus, le nom choisi remplacera les autres, et il n’y a pas d’exigence de publication.

Où trouver les formulaires :

La première étape dans ce processus de changement de nom est de remplir la Demande d’analyse préliminaire pour une modification d’un nom ou d’un prénom et l’envoyer au bureau du Directeur de l’état civil. Il n’y a pas de frais pour cette demande. Vous pouvez télécharger le document directement du site Web : http://www.etatcivil.gouv.qc.ca/publications/FO-12-04-demande-analyse-preliminaire-modification-nom-prenom.pdf

Le formulaire Demande de changement de mention de sexe n’est pas disponible en ligne, il vous faut en faire la demande auprès du Directeur de l’état civil, en appelant ou en vous présentant en personne.

  • Québec : 418-643-3900
  • Montréal : 514-864-3900
  • Ailleurs au Canada : 1-800-567-3900 (sans frais)

Après réception de l’analyse préliminaire, le Directeur de l’état civil vous fera parvenir par courrier, le formulaire et le guide Demande de changement de nom. Le coût de cette étape varie entre 300 $ et 400 $.