HIV/AIDS and Transitioning

Seroprevalence in Trans Populations

The HIV seroprevalence rates within some trans communities, especially amongst trans women, are disproportionately high. Some research has been conducted in an effort to better understand some of the reasons behind the high seroprevalence rates, in order to create trans-specific HIV resources and prevention programs.

Some of the reasons behind the high HIV seroprevalence rates:

  • Many trans people share intravenous and intramuscular needles for both drug and hormone use. While in Québec clean needles can be accessed at pharmacies and needle exchanges, many of these locations do not distribute intramuscular needles for hormone injections. Easy access to clean intramuscular needles can be a challenge especially if people are using black market hormones. As a result, many people still share their gear. A list of locations where people can access clean needles can be found at http://www.msss.gouv.qc.ca/sujets/prob_sante/itss/index.php?aid=154. Call in advance to find out if the location distributes intramuscular needles.
  • Safer sex education and HIV-prevention materials and resources often fail to address the needs and realities of trans people by using language that alienates and excludes trans bodies and lives. There are very few safer sex resources that are created by and for trans people and that address their unique experiences.
  • Some trans people feel as if they are not vulnerable to HIV because of a lack of visibility and open dialogue.
  • Trans people often experience a lack of self-esteem and fear of rejection, especially surrounding sex and romantic relationships, which can lead people to take risks that they otherwise might not take.
  • Because of a fear of being mistreated and experiencing discrimination, many trans people are reluctant to access health care services.
  • Many HIV/AIDS service organizations do not actively seek to make their resources relevant to trans realities.
  • HIV/AIDS research often neglects to consider the experiences of trans people. Trans women, for example, are lumped into the men who have sex with men (MSM) category, despite the fact that they are women, and many of them do not necessarily sleep with men. This kind of research therefore obscures the realities of trans people. Some interesting information and practices on trans-inclusive research models, can be found at. Trans Pulse is a trans health–specific research project, and is a good example of community-based research project. The Trans Pulse website can be found at <www.transpulse.ca>.

Disclosure

Patients do not generally have to disclose their HIV status to their health care provider. Moreover, many medical ethics bodies have ruled that a person should not be denied services due to HIV status or refusal to take an HIV test.

Under the Québec Charter of Human Rights and Freedoms, HIV is considered a disability. Discrimination solely because of seropositivity is therefore a violation of the Charter. Furthermore, the WPATH Standards of Care state that, “It is unethical to deny availability or eligibility for sex reassignment surgeries or hormone therapy solely on the basis of blood seropositivity for blood-borne infections such as HIV, or hepatitis B or C, etc.” As well, the Québec code of ethics dictates that a “physician may not refuse to examine or treat a patient solely for reasons related to the nature of the patient’s deficiency or illness, or because of the race, colour, sex, pregnancy, civil status, age, religion, ethnic or national origin, or social condition of the patient, or for reasons of sexual orientation, morality, political convictions, or language; he may, however, refer the patient to another physician if he deems it to be in the patient’s medical interest.”

Finally, many practitioners follow the WPATH Standards of Care, which deal specifically with the medical care of transgendered and transsexual people, and so are ethically bound to offer services to HIV-positive clients.  From this we can also conclude that HIV in itself is not a valid cause for refusal of treatment.

There may be instances where a health care provider might discourage or deny hormones or surgery because of the health issues linked to advanced HIV. Unfortunately, since anti-HIV discrimination is often couched in these terms, sorting through medical truths versus medical discrimination remains an ongoing struggle for individuals and the people and organizations that advocate for them.

Occasionally, surgeons have refused to provide gender reassignment surgery based solely on the patient’s HIV status. This is entirely unethical and constitutes violation of Québec’s Charter of Human Rights and Freedoms. The only recourse one has in this case is to file a complaint with the human rights commission.

At the Centre Métropolitain de Chirurgie Plastique clinic in Montreal, HIV-positive trans people are deemed eligible for SRS on a case-by-case basis, depending on the overall health of the patient.

With all of that said, it is important to keep in mind that current Canadian law stipulates that HIV-positive individuals can face criminal charges for failing to disclose their HIV status when engaging in activities that pose a “significant risk” of transmission. Because of standard medical precautions, it is unlikely that this would be a cause for concern regarding disclosure with a health care provider. In most of these cases, people have faced charges related to nondisclosure with their sexual partners. As of yet, there have been no cases related to HIV-positive patients not disclosing their HIV status to their doctor.

For more information on the criminalization of HIV in Canada, visit the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network website at www.aidslaw.ca.

Health Risks

HIV seropositivity is not a contraindication to Hormone Replacement Therapy. Risks do exist, however, and for this reason it is always best to be equipped with a wide variety of medical information and opinions. Some people have been able to do this by disclosing their serostatus to their doctor. Others do this research elsewhere, with the help of someone they trust.

There are particular risks if the person is planning on having any surgery, or if they are undergoing to planning to undergo feminizing or estrogen-based hormone therapy. There are no documented risks for masculinizing hormone therapy in HIV-positive individuals (though this could indicate a lack of research on the subject, rather than lack of risk).

Surgery and Serostatus

As previously mentioned, the WPATH Standards of Care highlight that it is unethical to refuse trans-specific health care based solely on an individual’s HIV status. However, HIV can have an impact on how quickly a person recovers from surgery, and on after-surgery risk level for opportunistic infections.

Some practitioners use the following criteria to help determine eligibility for surgery.

The patient

  • has no prior history of opportunistic infection
  • does not have fullblown AIDS
  • has a CD4 count above 200
  • has viral replicas less than 600

These guidelines are suggested by a doctor at the Detroit Medical Center Hospitals, where at least eleven successful SRS procedures have been performed on HIV-positive patients. Sheila Kirk is another doctor who has performed successful SRS on trans patients living with HIV, and has contributed to and co-edited an anthology on the topic called Transgender and HIV: Risks, Prevention, and Care.

Hormones and Serostatus

Some HIV medications result in lower hormonal levels for feminizing or estrogen-based hormone therapy. Sometimes, these levels result in the reversal of feminizing effects, including the return of body hair, more frequent erections, and weight loss.

The bottom line is that HIV itself does not make hormone therapy risky.  Negative results may occur with specific HIV and hormone drug combinations. For the practitioner and patient, it is advisable to consult with doctors experienced on these matters as specific questions arise.

From a harm-reduction perspective, a fully informed patient able to provide legal consent is ultimately the most important voice when considering treatment options. Hormone therapy in an individual desiring it can be expected to have a positive impact on emotional well-being, which needless to say is a factor in overall health.

Some clinical protocols of this nature have been developed by the Tom Waddell Health Centre clinic in San Francisco, which treats many HIV-positive transsexuals. Among these protocols is the strong recommendation that health care providers for trans people enhance their own knowledge of medical issues related to HIV.

The Tom Waddell Centre protocols can be found at http://www.sfdph.org/dph/comupg/oservices/medSvs/hlthCtrs/TransGendprotocols122006.pdf.

**This is a community resource that was created based on the knowledge and experiences of trans people. It does not contain medical or legal information from lawyers or doctors.

VIH/sida, séropositivité et transition

Séroprévalence dans les populations trans

Le taux de séroprévalence du VIH dans les communautés trans, est extrêmement élevé. Certains travaux de recherche ont été menés dans le but de mieux comprendre quelques-uns des facteurs responsables de ce haut taux de séroprévalence et de créer des ressources et des programmes de prévention du VIH spécifiquement adaptés aux besoins des personnes trans.

Voici quelques-uns des facteurs responsables du taux de séroprévalence élevé chez les personnes trans :

  •  De nombreuses personnes trans partagent des seringues à injections intraveineuses (pour l’administration de drogues) et intramusculaires (pour l’administration d’hormones). Bien qu’au Québec, les pharmacies et les centres d’échange de seringues distribuent des aiguilles à injections intraveineuses, ils distribuent plus rarement des aiguilles à injections intramusculaires. L’accès à ces dernières pose tout particulièrement un problème lorsque les personnes achètent leurs hormones sur le marché noir. Conséquemment, de nombreuses personnes continuent de partager des aiguilles souillées. Un répertoire des endroits où l’on peut obtenir des seringues propres est disponible à l’adresse suivante : http://www.msss.gouv.qc.ca/sujets/prob_sante/itss/index.php?aid=154. Assurez-vous de téléphoner à l’avance afin de savoir s’ils distribuent des seringues à injections intramusculaires.
  • Le langage des ressources et campagnes d’éducation en matière de sécurisexe et de prévention du VIH est souvent aliénant, car il ne reflète pas la spécificité physique et la vie des personnes trans. Les outils éducatifs, concernant le sécurisexe, spécifiquement conçus en fonction des besoins et de la réalité des personnes trans sont très rares.
  • Certaines personnes trans ne se considèrent pas à risque d’être exposées au VIH en raison de l’invisibilité et de l’absence de discussion franche et ouverte sur la question.
  • La mésestime de soi et la peur du rejet dans le contexte de relations sexuelles et amoureuses poussent souvent les personnes trans à prendre des risques qu’elles ne prendraient généralement pas.
  • La crainte d’être maltraitée ou de subir de la discrimination dissuade souvent les personnes trans d’accéder à des soins de santé.
  • De nombreux organismes prestataires de services liés au VIH/sida ne font pas d’efforts concrets pour adapter leurs ressources à la réalité des personnes trans.

La recherche sur le VIH/sida ne tient pas compte la plupart du temps de l’expérience des personnes trans. Les femmes trans sont souvent, par exemple, placées dans la catégorie HARSAH (hommes ayant des relations sexuelles avec d’autres hommes), sans égard au fait qu’elles sont des femmes et qu’elles n’ont pas nécessairement des relations sexuelles avec les hommes. Ce type de recherche efface ainsi l’expérience des personnes trans.

De l’information concernant les modèles de recherche qui intègrent de manière positive la réalité des personnes trans est disponible à l’adresse suivante : http://transhealth.uscf.edu/pdf/data-recommendation.pdf.
Le projet Trans Pulse constitue un excellent exemple de projet de recherche communautaire sur la santé trans. Pour plus d’information, visitez le site http://www.transpulse.ca.

Divulgation de l’état sérologique relativement au VIH

Un patient n’est pas tenu, en règle générale, de divulguer son état d’infection (ou de non-infection) par le VIH à un fournisseur de soins de santé. De plus, un certain nombre de corps professionnels spécialisés en matière de déontologie médicale ont statué que le refus d’un patient de se soumettre à un test de dépistage du VIH ne constitue pas un motif valable pour refuser de lui fournir des services.

Selon la charte québécoise des droits et libertés de la personne, l’infection par le VIH constitue un handicap et la discrimination fondée uniquement sur la séropositivité une violation des droits d’un individu. De plus, les normes de soins de la WPATH suggèrent qu’il est contraire à la déontologie médicale de restreindre l’accès d’un patient à l’hormonothérapie et à la CRS en raison de sa séropositivité à des infections transmissibles par le sang comme le VIH, l’hépatite B ou C, etc.

L’article 23 du Code de déontologie du Collège des médecins du Québec est d’ailleurs très clair à cet égard :

« Le médecin ne peut refuser d’examiner ou de traiter un patient pour des raisons reliées à la nature de la déficience ou de la maladie présentée par ce patient ou pour des raisons de race, de couleur, de sexe, de grossesse, d’état civil, d’âge, de religion, d’origine ethnique ou nationale ou de condition sociale de ce patient ou pour des raisons d’orientation sexuelle, de moeurs, de convictions politiques ou de langue; il peut cependant, s’il juge que c’est dans l’intérêt médical du patient, diriger celui-ci vers un autre médecin. »

Enfin, comme de nombreux fournisseurs de services de santé appliquent le protocole de la WPATH pour la prestation de soins médicaux aux personnes transgenres et transsexuelles, ils sont tenus de respecter les directives déontologiques de l’association et de fournir des services à leurs patients séropositifs. La séropositivité d’une personne ne constitue donc pas un motif valable pour lui refuser un traitement.

Il peut être légitime pour un professionnel de la santé de déconseiller ou de proscrire l’hormonothérapie et la chirurgie dans le cas de certains patients en phase avancée de la maladie. Malheureusement, comme la discrimination fondée sur la séropositivité s’exprime souvent en ces termes, il est extrêmement difficile, pour les personnes malades et les intervenants et organisations qui défendent leurs droits, de discerner si un traitement est véritablement contre-indiqué ou s’il sert de prétexte à une pratique médicale discriminatoire.

Certains chirurgiens ont refusé à quelques occasions la CRS à des patients uniquement en raison de leur séropositivité. Le comportement de ces chirurgiens constitue un manquement déontologique majeur et contrevient à la Charte québécoise des droits et libertés de la personne. Dans une telle situation, le seul recours dont dispose un patient est de déposer une plainte auprès de la Commission des droits de la personne du Québec.

Au Centre Métropolitain de Chirurgie Plastique de Montréal, l’admissibilité à la CRS des personnes trans séropositives est évaluée au cas par cas et en fonction de l’état de santé général de chaque patient.

Ceci étant dit, il faut se rappeler qu’au Canada, la loi stipule qu’une personne séropositive peut faire face à des accusations criminelles si elle omet de divulguer son état sérologique alors qu’elle s’adonne à des activités comportant des risques significatifs de transmission. Étant donné les standards de précaution médicalement établis, pour un patient qui ne divulgue pas sa séropositivité à un professionnel de la santé ne devrait pas être matière à préoccupation. Dans la plupart des cas relevant de cette loi, des accusations criminelles ont été portées contre des personnes qui n’avaient pas informé leurs partenaires sexuels de leur séropositivité. À ce jour, aucun cas de non-divulgation de séropositivité à un médecin n’a été porté devant les tribunaux. Pour plus d’information concernant la criminalisation du VIH au Canada, visitez le site Web du Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida à l’adresse suivante : http://www.aidslaw.ca.

Risques concernant la santé

L’état sérologique positif d’une personne au VIH n’est pas une contrindication absolue au THS. Le traitement comporte toutefois certains risques, et il est préférable d’obtenir un large éventail de renseignements et d’opinions médicales en la matière. Les personnes les mieux informées sont celles qui ont divulgué leur séropositivité à leur médecin. D’autres ont mené ailleurs leurs recherches avec le soutien de personnes en qui elles avaient confiance.

L’estrogénothérapie (ou tout traitement hormonal visant à féminiser) et les interventions chirurgicales, en particulier, présentent certains risques pour les personnes séropositives. Aucun risque associé au traitement hormonal visant à masculiniser une personne séropositive n’a été documenté. Reste à savoir si cette absence de données correspond à une absence de risque, ou bien à un manque de recherche en la matière.

Chirurgie et séropositivité

Comme nous l’avons mentionné précédemment, le protocole pour les normes de soins de la WPATH souligne le fait qu’il est contraire à la déontologie de refuser de fournir des services de santé à une personne en raison de sa séropositivité. Cependant, le VIH peut avoir un effet sur le temps que prend une personne à se rétablir à la suite d’une intervention chirurgicale et augmenter ses risques de contracter des infections opportunistes.

Certains praticiens déterminent l’admissibilité des personnes trans séropositives à la chirurgie en fonction des critères suivants :

  • Le patient ne doit pas avoir des antécédents d’infections opportunistes;
  • Le patient ne doit pas être dans la phase avérée du sida;
  • La numérotation des lymphocytes T-CD4 du patient doit être supérieure à 200;
  • La charge virale plasmatique du patient doit être inférieure à 600.

Les directives ci-dessus émanent du docteur A. Neal Wilson qui a pratiqué plus de onze CRS sur des personnes trans séropositives au Detroit Medical Center Hospital. La docteure Sheila Kirk est une autre médecin qui a effectué avec succès des CRS sur des patients trans séropositifs. Elle a d’ailleurs publié sur le sujet un ouvrage intitulé : Transgender and HIV: Risks, Prevention, and Care.

Hormonothérapie et séropositivité

Certains médicaments utilisés dans le traitement du VIH ont pour effet de diminuer le taux d’oestrogènes et d’autres hormones féminines utilisées en hormonothérapie. Les effets féminisants de ces hormones sont parfois supprimés, de sorte que certaines caractéristiques masculines réapparaissent comme la pilosité, des érections fréquentes et une perte de poids.

Ce qu’il faut se rappeler, en fin de compte, c’est que l’hormonothérapie n’est pas nécessairement plus risquée en présence du VIH. C’est l’interaction spécifique de certains médicaments utilisés pour le traitement du VIH avec certaines hormones prescrites en hormonothérapie qui peuvent produire des effets indésirables. On recommande aux médecins et aux patients de consulter des experts s’ils désirent obtenir des réponses adéquates aux questions qui les préoccupent.

Dans une perspective de réduction des méfaits, un médecin doit accorder à un patient bien informé et légalement apte à donner son consentement toute la considération qui lui est due en ce qui concerne les options de traitement disponibles. Prescrire l’hormonothérapie à un patient qui en fait la demande ne peut être que bénéfique pour son bien-être émotionnel et son état de santé en général.

Des protocoles cliniques reflétant les principes que l’on vient d’énoncer ont été développés par le Tom Waddell Health Center de San Francisco. Le centre offre des soins aux personnes transsexuelles séropositives et recommande fortement que les fournisseurs de soins de santé aux personnes transsexuelles approfondissent leurs connaissances médicales en matière de VIH.

Les protocoles de soins du Tom Waddell Health Center sont disponibles à l’adresse suivante : http://www.sfdph.org/dph/comupg/oservices/medSvs/hlthCtrs/TransGendprotocols122006.pdf.