Understanding the Bigger Picture: Harm Reduction & Social Determinants of Health

Now that we’re starting to get familiar with some of the terms used within trans communities, it is time to start thinking about the frameworks that we use to understand health. Discussions about trans people within medical discourse, the media, and academia are too often relegated to hormones and surgeries, that is, to the “physical” aspects of a transition. Trans people’s bodies and identities are therefore reduced to the status of their sexual organs, and their lives and realities are too often only understood within these terms. This kind of framework risks obscuring the ways in which institutional policies and social realities make the day-to-day lives of many trans people very difficult.

In order to approach trans health within a holistic framework, many allied professionals apply a harm-reduction approach, which recognizes the social, institutional, and economic circumstances that often result in a lack of access to basic services. Working from this approach, we can recognize that societal inequalities such as racism, poverty, ableism (discrimination against disabled people), social isolation, past trauma, and other forms of discrimination affect trans people and their access to medical and social services.  These inequalities also affect the ways in which trans people are able to find accurate information regarding surgeries and hormones, as well as their ability to afford all the financial and emotional costs of transition.

Take for example the case of poverty. Trans people are disproportionately affected by poverty. With a critical eye to the barriers in place that create situations of extreme poverty, as a provider, you can learn to more effectively advocate for your patient/client.

Some of the reasons trans people and poverty are often linked are

  • Barriers in obtaining and maintaining secure employment: A trans person may be discriminated against because they ask to be called a name other than that which appears on their legal identification documents, or because they are not always perceived by others as their chosen gender. Showing identification, and providing transcripts, diplomas, or references are all ways in which people are inadvertently forced to reveal the fact that they are or were undergoing sex/gender reassignment. This prevents many people from applying for jobs or, if they do, minimizes their chances of being hired.
  • Loss of family and community support: Some people lose the support of their family and friends after coming out. They can easily get kicked out of their parents’ homes, disowned, or cut off from financial support or access to the financial resources upon which they once relied. This kind of extreme loss could also result in depression, which can interfere with the ability to work.
  • Standards of Care: Up until the 7th version of the Standards of Care was released in the fall of 2011, the WPATH Standards of Care imposed strict limits on who was able to access hormones and surgery. While the current version of the Standards of Care are a vast improvement on previous editions, in order to access surgery, many transsexual people still have to undergo an extensive amount of therapy, ofen at great cost, as it is not covered by medicare. Some trans people have to pay more to access a support group or to receive a psychological evaluation. Many professionals charge exorbitant prices for their services and have no sliding scale fees based on income. The current version of the Standards of Care is much more flexible, has no minimum requirement for therapy, and encourages health care professionals to tailor the document to their patient’s individual needs.
  • The high cost of surgeries and necessary procedures: Although many trans-specific surgeries are covered in Québec, access to mental health professionals to write the letters of evaluation are a prohibitive cost for many. Furthermore, these surgeries are covered only for Québec residents with permanent immigration status, and many non-residents have to save for years to access them.
  • Other systemic barriers: Some trans people may be working under a name that is different from their legal name. They may have difficulty cashing personal cheques made out to their chosen name or even to their legal name. This can be very stressful because of the risk of being “outed.” Some trans people may not be able to access services because of their geographical location, because of the cost of transportation, or because of the cost of childcare. One way of helping with this is to be willing to see trans clients in their homes or to set up appointments in a way that maximizes the utility of their trip into your area.

While reading this guide, please try to keep in mind the various social and economic factors that limit access to essential services. This can mean considering, for example, how immigration policies can limit access to health care and social services, how changing legal documents to more accurately reflect one’s gender identity can help create the space for trans people to more safely navigate the world, and how trans people are often excluded from access to gender-segregated facilities (i.e. facilities that separate men and women), such as shelters and drug and alcohol detoxification/rehabilitation centres.

This information is far from exhaustive, but it is a starting point from which to get a glimpse into the harsh realities that some trans people face every day. As a service provider, you can advocate for your patients/clients by acknowledging the systemic barriers in place that prevent people from accessing services.

Applying a Harm Reduction Framework 

Harm reduction is a philosophy popularized by people organizing around HIV/AIDS and other health issues related to injection drug use. It aims to reduce the harm relating to high-risk behaviors, without pathologizing or criminalizing those who engage in these activities.  Harm-reduction work provides resources and options to drug users, to help make drug use a less risky activity, without trying to force users to stop this activity altogether.  This includes, for example, distributing clean needles to reduce the possibility of people sharing or reusing gear. Harm reduction philosophy positions drug users as the primary agents of reducing risk in their own lives, empowers users to make their own choices, and provides non-coercive and non-judgmental services.

This framework has since been adopted by many other health care and social service providers in a wide range of contexts. Working through a harm-reduction lens in its broadest sense means learning and understanding all of the social inequalities that act as barriers in access to services, and providing non-judgmental support. A health care or social service provider applying this framework follows the lead of their patient/client by providing resources that are relevant and respectful of a person’s individual needs, choices, and limitations.

  • Working from a harm reduction approach as a health or social service provider in a trans-specific context means;
  • Creating greater options for trans people to access Hormone Replacement Therapy. This can be done by using an informed consent model of care, which recognizes that your patient is best equipped to make decisions about their own body and life;
  • Acknowledging that trans people access hormones in a variety of ways, and that there are many people who find their hormones on the black market. As a health care provider, you can recognize and respect people’s choices and provide resources and support on safer use of street hormones;
  • Facilitating access to health care and social services to non-status trans people, and those whose immigration status is precarious;
  • Dispensing all pertinent information regarding risks and side effects of Hormone Replacement Therapy and Sex Reassignment Surgery for trans clients, in order for them to make informed decisions regarding their health;
  • Ensuring that people with a wide variety of gender identities and gender presentations routinely have a real voice in the creation of policies and programs designed to serve them;
  • Providing clear explanations of how to safely acquire, use, and dispose of syringes and intramuscular and intravenous needles;
  • Giving explanations of how to self-inject hormones safely;
  • Creating and distributing resources on safer drug use;
  • Consulting with peers to locate specialists who can provide services for your trans patients, including trans-positive gynecologists, endocrinologists, psychiatrists, and surgeons; and
  • Respecting and recognizing sex work as a legitimate form of employment. This can be done by respecting people’s choices, advocating for safer work conditions, supporting the decriminalization of sex work, and by providing relevant resources and support.

Déterminants sociaux de la santé et réduction des méfaits

Nous étant familiarisés avec certains termes en usage dans les communautés trans, nous pouvons maintenant nous pencher sur les divers modèles utilisés pour comprendre la santé. Les discussions portant sur les personnes trans dans le discours médical, universitaire et médiatique sont trop souvent confinées aux aspects physiques de la transition, c’est-à-dire l’hormonothérapie et les interventions chirurgicales. L’identité et le corps d’une personne trans, sa vie et son quotidien sont ainsi perçus et compris en fonction du statut de ses organes génitaux. Ce type de cadre obscurcit comment certains facteurs sociaux et certaines directives institutionnelles contribuent à rendre très difficile la vie quotidienne des personnes trans.

Plusieurs professionnels aidants considèrent plutôt la santé trans d’un point de vue holistique, appliquant un modèle de réduction des méfaits qui tient compte des facteurs socio-économiques, des aspects institutionnels qui rendent les services de base inaccessibles aux personnes trans. Cette approche nous permet de concevoir comment les inégalités sociales comme le racisme, la pauvreté, la discrimination envers les personnes handicapées, l’isolement social, les traumatismes vécus, pour n’en nommer que quelques-unes, peuvent affecter les personnes trans et avoir un impact sur leur accès aux soins de santé et aux services sociaux. Ces inégalités nuisent non seulement à la capacité d’un individu à trouver de l’information précise concernant les chirurgies et l’hormonothérapie, mais elles ont aussi des incidences majeures sur ses capacités émotionnelle et financière à assumer les coûts liés à la transition.

Prenons, à titre d’exemple, le cas de la pauvreté. Elle touche un nombre disproportionné de personnes trans. En examinant de manière critique les divers facteurs responsables de l’extrême pauvreté des personnes trans, vous serez en mesure, en tant que prestataire de services, de mieux promouvoir les droits et intérêts de vos usagers ou patients.

 Nous vous présentons un bref survol des facteurs responsables de la pauvreté chez les personnes trans.

  • Difficultés à trouver et conserver un emploi

Une personne trans peut être victime de discrimination parce qu’elle demande à être désignée par un nom qui diffère de celui apparaissant sur ses pièces d’identité ou parce qu’elle n’est pas toujours perçue en fonction du sexe qu’elle a choisi. Présenter des pièces d’identité, fournir des relevés de notes, des diplômes ou références obligent les personnes trans à divulguer à un peu n’importe qui le fait qu’ils ont entrepris une démarche pour changer de sexe. Par conséquent, beaucoup s’abstiennent de postuler pour des emplois ou, s’ils le font, voient leurs chances de succès dramatiquement réduites.

  • Perte de soutien familial et communautaire

Une personne peut perdre le soutien de sa famille et de ses amis lorsque ces derniers apprennent qu’elle est trans. Elle peut être mise à la porte du foyer familial, déshéritée, rejetée et perdre tout soutien financier auparavant disponible. La sévérité d’une telle perte peut conduire la personne vers la dépression et ainsi interférer avec sa capacité à travailler.

  • Normes de soins

Les normes de soins établies par la WPATH imposent d’importantes restrictions quant à qui peut — ou qui ne peut pas — avoir accès à l’hormonothérapie et aux interventions chirurgicales. Une personne transsexuelle est tenue de participer, si elle désire une intervention chirurgicale, à un suivi thérapeutique prolongé, coûteux, et non couvert par le Régime d’assurance-maladie du Québec. Beaucoup de professionnels n’offrent leurs services qu’à des coûts exorbitants, sans aucune échelle mobile de tarifs adaptés en fonction du revenu.

  • Coûts élevés des chirurgies et autres procédures

Bien qu’au Québec, plusieurs chirurgies spécifiquement trans soient couvertes par le régime provincial d’assurance-maladie, les frais exigés par les professionnels en santé mentale pour une lettre d’évaluation sont souvent prohibitifs. De plus, ces chirurgies ne sont couvertes que pour les résidents du Québec ayant obtenu leur statut de citoyenneté permanente, ce qui oblige un grand nombre de non-résidents à économiser pendant des années pour accéder aux chirurgies.

  • Autres obstacles systémiques

Certaines personnes trans utilisent au travail un nom différent de leur nom légal. Elles peuvent avoir de la difficulté à encaisser des chèques personnels libellés à leur nom choisi, ou même à leur nom légal. Le risque de voir son identité personnelle révélée à tout un chacun peut être extrêmement stressant. D’autres ne peuvent accéder aux services en raison de leur situation géographique, en raison du coût des frais de transport ou encore des frais de garderie. Dans de tels cas, il est possible d’aider une personne trans en la rencontrant à son domicile ou en planifiant les rendez-vous de manière à maximiser la pertinence de son déplacement dans votre secteur.

En lisant ce guide, nous vous prions de garder à l’esprit les divers facteurs socio-économiques qui limitent l’accès des personnes trans à des services essentiels. Examinez, par exemple, comment les politiques sur l’immigration peuvent limiter l’accès aux soins de santé et aux services sociaux… Imaginez à quel point le changement de ses documents légaux afin qu’ils correspondent à son identité sexuelle peut générer l’espace dont a besoin une personne trans pour naviguer le monde en sécurité… Rappelez-vous que, trop souvent, les personnes trans se voient refuser l’accès aux établissements séparés par genre comme les centres d’accueil et les centres de traitement pour l’alcoolisme et la toxicomanie.

Loin d’être complète, cette information ne représente qu’un point de départ à partir duquel il est possible d’envisager la dure réalité à laquelle sont confrontées les personnes trans tous les jours. En tant que fournisseur de services, vous pouvez promouvoir les droits et intérêts de vos patients et usagers en identifiant les obstacles systémiques qui existent et qui les empêchent d’accéder aux services dont ils ont besoin.

Réduction des méfaits

La réduction des méfaits est un cadre philosophique qui a été développé par des intervenants gravitant autour de la problématique du VIH/sida et d’autres problèmes liés à la santé chez les utilisateurs de drogues intraveineuses. Cette approche vise à réduire les méfaits associés à des activités à risque, sans pour autant pathologiser ou criminaliser ceux et celles qui s’engagent dans ces activités. Le travail de réduction des méfaits fournit des ressources et des alternatives aux utilisateurs de drogues pour réduire les risques encourus, sans toutefois tenter de les forcer à cesser leurs activités. Par exemple, on distribue des aiguilles stériles pour restreindre les possibilités de réutilisation et de partage d’aiguilles souillées. Dans cette optique, on considère les utilisateurs de drogues comme les principaux agents capables de diminuer les risques dans leur vie. On les habilite à prendre leurs propres décisions et on leur offre des services non coercitifs et exempts de jugement.

Le modèle de réduction des méfaits a aujourd’hui gagné la faveur d’un nombre important de fournisseurs de services sociaux et de soins de santé œuvrant dans des contextes très diversifiés. Dans son sens large, travailler dans une optique de réduction des méfaits nous incite à comprendre comment les inégalités sociales constituent des barrières empêchant l’accès aux services et à un soutien exempt de jugement. Un professionnel de la santé ou travailleur social qui travaille dans un tel cadre accompagne son patient ou son client dans sa démarche en lui proposant des ressources pertinentes et en respectant ses besoins, ses choix, et ses limites.

Offrir à une clientèle trans des services sociaux et des soins de santé selon une approche de réduction des méfaits signifie que l’on doit :

  • Élargir les options quant au processus d’accès à l’hormonothérapie. Vous pouvez utiliser un formulaire de consentement préalable aux soins, lequel reconnaît que votre patient est la personne la plus apte à prendre des décisions concernant son corps et sa vie;
  •  Reconnaître que les personnes trans se procurent des hormones de diverses façons y compris, souvent, sur le marché noir. En tant que professionnel de la santé, vous pouvez respecter ce choix et fournir à votre patient soutien et ressources concernant l’utilisation d’hormones achetées sur le marché noir;
  • Faciliter l’accès aux soins de santé et aux services sociaux aux personnes trans qui sont sans papiers ou dont le statut au Canada est précaire;
  • Informer les personnes trans des risques et effets secondaires associés à l’hormonothérapie et aux chirurgies de réassignation de sexe afin qu’elles puissent prendre des décisions éclairées concernant leur santé;
  • S’assurer que des personnes représentant un large éventail identitaire sont consultées sur une base régulière concernant les programmes et politiques créés pour répondre à leurs besoins;
  • Expliquer clairement la manière sécuritaire de se procurer, d’utiliser et de disposer des seringues à injection intraveineuse et intramusculaire;
  • Expliquer la façon sécuritaire de s’injecter soi-même des hormones;
  • Concevoir et diffuser des ressources sur la consommation de drogues et la réduction des méfaits;
  • Consulter ses collègues pour repérer des spécialistes — gynécologues, endocrinologues, psychiatres, chirurgiens, etc. — aptes à fournir des soins à vos patients trans;
  • Reconnaître que le travail du sexe constitue une forme d’emploi pour plusieurs. Vous pouvez respecter ce choix et vous informer quant aux besoins particuliers des travailleurs et travailleuses du sexe trans et leur offrir des ressources et un soutien appropriés.