Gender-segregated Facilities

Many everyday spaces are segregated by gender—public washrooms and locker rooms, for example, are spaces that for the most part are gender segregated. Spaces commonly believed to be safe, such as public washrooms, are often instead sites of violence and exclusion for trans people, who routinely experience confused looks and harassment when trying to use a washroom.

Gender-segregated social services and resources meant to support people who experience poverty, violence, and discrimination are even more complicated to navigate. The difficulties trans people face in public spaces such as public washrooms and locker rooms are relatively minor, or at least brief, compared to those they experience in many homeless shelters, drug and alcohol detoxification and rehabilitation facilities, and some crisis support centres.

Prisons are another example of a gender-segregated facility that many trans people have to navigate. Because many aspects of their realities are criminalized, trans people are overrepresented in the prison system, and as prisons are gender segregated, trans people are aften housed according to their sex assigned at birth. They often experience transphobic violence and discrimination at the hands of both the prison population and staff. Furthermore, trans people in prisons have difficulty accessing relevant and respectful health care.

This chapter will briefly outline what access to shelters, drug and alcohol detoxification centres looks like in this province, as well as examine how institutional assignment and access to trans-specific services work in prisons.

Shelters

As of yet, there is no official policy in Québec with regards to how trans people are housed in gender-segregated shelters. Some cities, such as Toronto and New York, have city-wide policies that outline trans admittance to shelters, which are mandated to provide services to trans people, regardless of the gender marker on their ID. In Québec, no such policy exists.

Generally, admittance to shelters is determined on a case-by-case basis, and this means that many trans people are turned away. Some shelters have informal policies where they will only accept a limited number of trans people per night, or some house trans people in private rooms, as opposed to the general dorms. While some trans people appreciate the privacy of separate room, for many others, this can be an isolating experience.

Because no trans policy exists within shelters in Québec, access is often granted based on the discretion of the staff. Advocating for a trans person accessing a shelter could mean calling the shelter in advance and offering to discuss misconceptions and fears about trans people.

Alcohol and Drug Detoxification and Rehabilitation Centres

Similarly to shelters, alcohol and drug detoxification and rehabilitation centres in Québec do not have an official policy regarding how trans people are housed, and access is usually granted on a case-by-case basis. Most often, though, people are housed according to the gender marker on their government-issued ID.

Prisons

Trans people are disproportionately targeted by police violence and brutality and are overrepresented in prisons. Due to discrimination and the legalities surrounding sex work, poverty, homelessness, and drug use, many trans people come in contact with the criminal justice system.

Institutional Assignment

As gender-segregated facilities, prisons determine institutional assignment for trans people based on the status of the person’s genitals, and not on the individual’s gender identity. This means, for example, that a pre- or non-operative trans woman would be housed in a men’s prison. This policy is the same for both federal prisons and provincial jails.

Hormones

The Correctional Services Canada policy on trans people in federal prison states that a trans person can continue hormones while in federal prison, if they had a valid prescription before they were incarcerated. Initiation of Hormone Replacement Therapy while in prison is possible only with permission from a “recognized expert in the area of gender identity.” So, hormone initiation in federal prisons is possible in theory, but because there are so few health care professionals who work regularly with trans people, and because “expertise” in the field of trans health is rare, access is most often granted at the discretion of the individual guards, wardens, and medical staff who work in the prisons.

While this federal policy exists, in practice, trans people are most often granted access to hormones in prison based on what kind of treatment they had before being incarcerated. This means that if a trans person had been using hormones that they acquired on the black market, without a prescription, they would be denied access to hormones in prison. If they had a prescription, and had been followed by a doctor on the outside, chances are they would have an easier time accessing their hormones on the inside.

In provincial jails (for people who are serving sentences of less than two years), access to hormones is only accessible to those who had a prescription for hormones before incarceration.

Sex Reassignment Surgery

Sex Reassignment Surgeries are not covered for people in either federal prisons or provincial jails. Up until November 2010, according to Correctional Service Canada’s policy on trans prisoners, Sex Reassignment Surgeries were covered for those serving sentences in federal prisons. Similar to initiation of hormone therapy, surgeries were accessible with a recommendation from a “recognized gender identity specialist.” This policy has recently been changed, as the Conservative government has stated that Sex Reassignment Surgery is not an essential medical service.

The Correctional Service Canada policy on trans inmates can be found at, http://www.csc-scc.gc.ca/text/plcy/cdshtm/800-cde-fra.shtml.

Établissements séparés par genre

De nombreux espaces publics sont pour la plupart séparés par genre, par exemple les toilettes publiques ou les vestiaires. De tels endroits sont censés être sans risques, pourtant, ils sont souvent le site de violence et d’exclusion pour les personnes trans, qui sont couramment soumises à des regards soupçonneux, quand ce n’est pas carrément du harcèlement.

Les ressources et les services sociaux séparés par genre qui s’adressent aux personnes démunies, victimes de violence ou de discrimination sont encore plus complexes à vivre. Ce à quoi les personnes trans s’exposent dans les espaces publics (toilettes, vestiaires) est de courte durée et presque banal si l’on compare à ce qu’elles peuvent connaître dans des centres d’hébergement pour les sans-abri, des centres de désintoxication alcool/drogues et de réinsertion, et certains centres de crise.

Les centres de détention sont un autre exemple d’établissements séparés par genre. Étant donné que certains aspects de leur milieu sont criminalisés, les personnes trans sont surreprésentées au sein de la population carcérale. Elles sont placées en fonction de leur sexe à la naissance, et deviennent souvent les victimes de transphobie, accompagnée de violence et de discrimination de la part des autres prisonniers et du personnel. De plus, les personnes trans ont du mal avoir accès à des soins de santé appropriés et respectueux.

Le chapitre qui suit résume brièvement la situation dans les centres d’hébergement, les centres de désintoxication alcool/drogues et de réinsertion, et examine aussi de quelle manière les services institutionnels et les services d’accès spécifiques pour les personnes trans fonctionnent dans les prisons.

Centres d’hébergement

À ce jour, il n’y a au Québec aucune recommandation officielle en ce qui concerne le placement des personnes trans dans des établissements séparés par genre. Certaines villes, comme Toronto et New York, ont des directives municipales qui exposent les grandes lignes de l’admission des personnes trans aux ressources d’hébergement, et qui ont pour mandat de fournir des services aux personnes trans en ne se souciant pas du sexe inscrit sur leurs pièces d’identité. Au Québec, il n’existe pas de telle mesure.

En règle générale, l’accès aux centres d’hébergement se fait au cas par cas, et cela signifie que de nombreuses personnes trans sont refusées. Quelques centres d’accueil ont des règles officieuses qui établissent un certain quota de personnes trans par nuit, d’autres les logent dans des chambres privées plutôt que dans des dortoirs. Alors que certaines personnes trans apprécient cette intimité, plusieurs autres peuvent le vivre comme de l’isolement.

Puisqu’il n’existe au Québec aucune directive concernant les personnes trans pour les centres d’hébergement, l’accès est donc souvent laissé à la discrétion du personnel. Notre recommandation serait d’appeler le centre d’accueil à l’avance et de proposer de discuter des peurs et des idées préconçues sur les personnes trans.

Centres de désintoxication alcool/drogues et de réinsertion

Comme pour les centres d’hébergement, les centres de désintoxication alcool/drogues et de réinsertion n’ont aucune directive en ce qui concerne le placement des personnes trans et l’admission est généralement acceptée au cas par cas. Et très souvent, les gens sont logés en fonction du genre inscrit sur leurs pièces d’identité du gouvernement.

Centres de détention

Les personnes trans sont exagérément la cible de violence et de brutalité policières, et sont surreprésentées dans les prisons. En raison de la discrimination et de la légalité liées à l’industrie du sexe, à la pauvreté, à l’itinérance et à l’usage des drogues; de nombreuses personnes trans sont exposées au système de justice pénale.

Classification institutionnelle

En tant qu’établissements séparés par genre, les prisons procèdent à une classification pour les personnes trans en fonction de leur sexe, et non pas de leur identité de genre. Cela veut dire, par exemple, qu’une femme trans en phase préopératoire — ou qui n’envisage pas la CRS —  serait placée dans une prison pour hommes. Cette classification s’applique pour les centres de détention fédéraux et provinciaux.

Hormones

La politique du Service correctionnel du Canada liée aux personnes trans dans les prisons fédérales recommande que celles-ci puissent continuer leur traitement hormonal, seulement si elles avaient une ordonnance médicale avant leur incarcération. Un traitement hormonal substitutif peut être commencé en prison à la condition d’avoir l’accord d’un expert reconnu dans le domaine de l’identité sexuelle. Donc, en théorie, amorcer l’hormonothérapie dans les prisons fédérales est possible, mais parce qu’il y a si peu de professionnels de la santé qui travaillent régulièrement avec les personnes trans, et puisque l’expertise dans ce domaine est rare, l’accès à l’hormonothérapie est souvent laissé à la discrétion des gardes, des directeurs et du personnel médical de la prison.

Même si cette directive fédérale est en vigueur, en réalité, les personnes trans n’ont accès à un traitement d’hormones en prison qu’en fonction du traitement avant leur détention. Alors, cela signifie que les personnes trans qui utilisaient des hormones achetées sur le marché noir, sans ordonnance, s’en verront refuser l’accès en prison. Sans ordonnance, et sans docteur externe, elles n’ont aucune chance.

Dans les prisons provinciales (pour des sentences de deux ans ou moins), l’accès aux hormones n’est donné qu’aux personnes qui avaient une ordonnance avant leur détention.

Chirurgie de réassignation sexuelle

Les chirurgies de réassignation sexuelle ne sont pas prises en charge dans les centres de détention fédéraux ou provinciaux. Jusqu’en novembre 2010, selon la politique du Service correctionnel du Canada liée aux personnes trans, ces chirurgies étaient couvertes pour celles qui étaient dans les prisons fédérales, avec l’accord d’un expert reconnu dans le domaine de l’identité sexuelle. Cette politique a récemment été modifiée, car le gouvernement conservateur a décrété que les chirurgies de réassignation sexuelle n’étaient pas considérées comme un service médical essentiel.

Vous pouvez consulter la politique du Service correctionnel du Canada liée aux personnes trans en prison à l’adresse suivante : http://www.csc-scc.gc.ca/text/plcy/cdshtm/800-cde-fra.shtml.